This Is The Year I _______.

Well, first of all, it should be the year I “say more” on this site! I allowed myself to drop the habit of blogging before it had even begun. I vow here and now to do better in 2013.

I’ve been told that if you really want to be great at something, you need to have continuous practice. So, not only do I promise to write more here, but I have a new blog that will be focused on writing memoirs – the lessons, tips, and struggles that I found and learned on my own writing journey. This may be my defining year as a writer, as I intend to complete my birthmother story that was sparked in part by my blog post, What Kind of Person Am I?  This project did not get as much attention as it needed last year, but I have set a firm goal to have it finished by August 2013. Its original purpose started as a gift for my oldest son, who was adopted at birth, but I have had requests to make it available to a wider audience and the story has grown to be so much more than I imagined, and so…this is the year I become a self-published author.

I also plan on completing the next segment of my college education this year. I enrolled in a local college this past fall and completed 15 credit hours toward a business degree. I have another 15 credit hours to go of core business classes for the spring semester. After that, I will decide if it is worth taking General Statistics and an ethics/philosophy class next fall in order to earn a piece of paper with the words “Associates of Business Degree” printed in a fancy font on it. It may be a choice between that and my sanity. I don’t have to think about that right this minute, but no matter what I choose to do…this is the year I become more educated in business.

Just for fun, this is the year I am going to (attempt to) learn to speak Spanish. Muy bien, si?

Even more fun, this is the year I become a grandma. This one will be the most exciting and easiest goal to accomplish (for me)! 🙂

How will you finish the sentence?  This is the year I _____.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Hathaway
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:45:31

    Whoa.. you are certainly ambitious.So much to do.
    This is the year I… finish my book draft, lose 10 pounds, and get over my boyfriend dumping me a year ago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

