A Fall From Pollyanna’s Wagon

I’ve been enjoying the benefits of practicing positivity, laughter, and “not taking things personally” a la Byron Katie, but my practice totally went out the window a couple of days ago when I was snowballed by multiple crisis-level events. Okay, so that is a slight exaggeration, but it certainly reminded me of how quickly and easily stress levels can go up and allow negative emotions and reactions to rush in.

In any case, on that day: an annoying computer issue started it off; multiple arguments with my son did not help; watching the UPS truck drive off after trying to deliver my package to the wrong apartment only exacerbated the situation; and to top it off, my bread machine pan failed and leaked the liquid contents into the bottom of the machine and all over my kitchen counter. Oh, and all this *made* me late to Michael’s guitar lesson, so I also lost money on the deal. Ack!

While waiting for Michael to finish his now 15-minute lesson, I pondered how I could have changed my responses and better managed the events of the morning. Certainly it isn’t too much to ask a 15-year-old to perform some basic chores and to expect him to be keeping up with school assignments, right? (That last question is screaming for a “sarcasm font.”) None of these things (and there were actually a couple more that I excluded because I don’t want to be a total bore here) are all that major, really. Inconvenient, yes. But not traumatic. Perhaps it effected me so because they all happened essentially within a few hours. In any case, I forgot and took things very personally indeed. Was I stressing over the idea of not having enough time to do the things on my list, and so the universe responded accordingly, showing me exactly what that looks like? Well done, Universe. Well done.

After doing some quick research for a new bread machine, that evening I left to try to find one locally. I was not really expecting to find the one I wanted, but thought I’d give it a try. Perhaps I really just needed to get out of the apartment for a little bit. Driving down the dark road towards my town’s “Shopping Nirvana” area, I reflected again about my responses and what I could have done differently. I do tend to over-analyze at times, but this time it hit me.

I could have used Laughter Yoga to help me through these experiences like I had with my car! So, cloaked in the safety of a winter night, I thought about the arguments with my son and laughed. I thought about my bread machine and laughed. I thought about the UPS non-delivery and the other issues from the morning and laughed, laughed, laughed. Well. I car-laughed. With my mouth shut. It was pretty dark, but I didn’t want to take any chances. 🙂

Even though I did not find my machine in a store, I did reclaim my positive state of mind, released the negative tension I had created, and scrambled back up on that wagon of positive possibilities. It was, after all, another amazing day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

