The Pomegranate Way

There are many paths to any goal. The way I am going towards achieving my soul purpose and finding joy is completely different from anyone else’s, and just because I am happy with my progress and the view of the world from my path, doesn’t make it the only way, or even the best way to get to the proverbial prize.

I have been learning the “many ways” lesson in other facets of my life, and am finding that some of these lessons can be rather subtle. Obvious ways are in terms of religion, politics, and lifestyles. Some of the more subtle aspects come out to play when someone in your household or life doesn’t act, say, or do something in the way that you feel is best. Kids can be the best teachers of this lesson. 🙂

However, with all of that being said, I can say that there is a single best way to harvest seeds from a pomegranate – under water. I de-seeded one for the first time ever this last week and made a fantastic apple and pomegranate crisp out of it. My way to serve it was with real whipped cream with a dusting of fresh nutmeg over top. Another Heavenly Moment! This is going to be another fall favorite of mine. 🙂 The recipe below is the original. Since it only called for 1/2 pomegranate, I doubled the recipe. It isn’t lasting long, so that was a good call.

Brenda’s Apple and Pomegranate Crisp (found on allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

4 medium apples – peeled, cored, and sliced.
1/2 pomegranate, skin and light-colored membrane removed
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 T ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg (fresh is best!)

~

1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
1/2 cup white sugar (I used turbinado sugar)
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted (mine had salt)

~

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375* F (190*C). Butter a 9×13 inch baking dish (Even though I doubled it, I was able to fit the whole thing into the same size dish.)

In a large bowl, toss together the apples, pomegranate seeds, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Spread evenly into the prepared pan.

In the same bowl, stir together oats, flour, and sugar. Rub in the butter between your fingers until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over the top of the fruit. (I just stirred it well with a spoon and then spread it over the top.)

Bake for 45 minutes in the preheated oven, until the apples are soft. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Serve warm or at room temperature. (Again, my way is warm with whipped cream (add a bit of powdered sugar before you whip) and dusting of nutmeg.)

Leave a Reply

