Call It What It Is…Family

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life. Rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof.” ~ Richard Bach

Have you ever met someone who was never a stranger? Have you felt a kind of connection with another like you’re picking up a conversation that started before? The people who, though not related by blood, and even if they aren’t in your life on a weekly, monthly, or yearly basis, can resume that conversation the moment you find each other again should also be considered your family.

I have “soul-family members,” as I have started calling them, scattered across the globe. I have been so blessed with many of both blood-family and soul-family members that when difficulties occur, someone is always around to lift me back up and remind me of the values I try to live by.

I think that our family is our school in a very big way. We are both teachers and students and how we grow in our interactions with each other determine our grades and indeed, our graduations. So when I notice similar problems coming up in my life, it alerts me to the fact that I’m not learning a lesson very well and would I please try again? In this way, even if the family members are of a difficult nature, it could be that they are merely teaching us the lesson we need to learn.

Of course, I could be way off base here, but this is just the beginning of my thesis and I wanted to write it down. In any case, I have noticed that when I solve a dilemma from my “higher self,” I find that I have a greater sense of peace, even if the outcome was not resolved in the way my “ego-self” would have liked to deal with it, and I have my entire family to thank for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

