Words are Magic

You have to believe we are magic.
Nothing can stand in our way.
You have to believe we are magic.
Don’t let your aim ever stray.
And if all your hopes survive.
Destiny will arrive.

~ “Magic”

Throughout my childhood, I was very thin, but by the time I hit middle school, I became painfully skinny. This is when my growth spurt really kicked in so not only did clothes not fit well, but they were rarely long enough for my constantly growing arms and legs. Adding to my teenage angst was the fact that I was never very athletic, so the typical activities that tall, thin people are believed to excel at were not open to me. Do you play basketball? Do you run track? No, no, no… However, I was more than capable of reporting on how the weather was “up there.”

The real shift in how I viewed myself, however, came from words. Words that accentuated the idea that I was somehow too different and “less than” because my body type/shape was not the socially accepted norm. By the time my body caught up with my growth spurt, I was no longer seeing my true self. I was still caught on the same tape recording of “I’m too skinny” and other perceived shortcomings.

For me, there was no epiphany or life-changing event where I changed the script in my head from negative-based to positive-based. It was a gradual shift that began with my effort to maintain a positive outlook of the external that developed into becoming aware of and then changing the negative mind-speak to personal positive affirmations. Since becoming more positive, however, the magic that has entered my life as a result is incredibly uplifting.

What you say to yourself and to others has a profound effect, and the words you say to others leaves an imprint on you as well. Take note of how you feel when you genuinely compliment another and see their reaction. Then take note of how you feel when you curse at the driver who pulled in front of you on the way to work. What would happen if the daily experiences that are under your control were more positive? Just as the negative will breed more negative, the practice of being positive will return joy to you in spades.

I’m still working on speaking better words both internally and externally. Being human, I imagine this will be a lifelong practice. That’s fine by me – I’ve got a lot of scripts to rewrite. 🙂

How many times in a day do you have negative-based thoughts? Try rewriting your script into a positive one, and see if you notice the magic happening in your life.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 19:05:29

    Was the word you said to yourself, “ectomorphic?” =D

    Shades of Byron Katie, I see. Nice post!

    Reply

  2. Kresta
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 19:55:43

    This one really resonates with me. I really need to put forth more effort in my comments to the ones closest to me – my children! I often find myself being short with them and then reprimanding myself after the fact – thinking they didn’t deserve that. Thanks for posting this. I will consciously put forth a better effort in this one from now on. 🙂

    The beauty of life is how much we continue to learn.

    Reply

  3. elizabethsaidso
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 21:17:20

    Oh yes, Margaret – ectomorph is a perfect word for me! I’m writing it in now… Thanks for that! 🙂 I love Byron Katie’s work – she is definitely one of my teachers on this path.

    Reply

  4. elizabethsaidso
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 21:18:26

    Kresta – Our children are definitely some of the most important teachers, aren’t they? I recall many times apologizing to my kids after blowing my cool… Wait. I still find myself apologizing to Michael sometimes. I’m not finished learning yet… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

